The Football Writers Association of American and Charlotte Touchdown Club have announced their five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and two Alabama teammates make the cut.

Crimson Tide defensive end Jonathan Allen and linebacker Reuben Foster join Florida State CB Tarvarus McFadden, Michigan LB Jabrill Peppers and Clemson DE Christian Wilkins as nominees for defensive player of the year.

A FWAA release notes that Allen is No. 2 on Alabama’s career sack list (25), including 7.5 sacks for 55 yards in losses this season. He also has 13 quarterback hurries, 2 pass breakups, 2 fumble recoveries for touchdowns and a blocked kick.

Foster leads the Crimson Tide with 70 total tackles. He has 7 tackles for loss on the season, including 2 sacks. The senior linebacker has also recorded 2 PBUs and 4 QB hurries.

The FWAA has voted on a defensive player of the year every since 1993 and named the award after Nagurski, a legendary two-way player at Minnesota, in 1995. The award will be presented at a banquet in Charlotte on Dec. 5.