Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa brought home an award that means a lot to him and has been won by notable NFL players. Tagovailoa was named the 2019 Polynesian College Football Co-Player of the Year alongside Oregon offensive lineman Penei Sewell.

The other Finalists for the award were Utah DL Bradlee Anae and DB Julian Blackmon and Iowa DL A.J. Epenesa. Tagovailoa won the award last year.

“On behalf of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Board of Directors, we congratulate Tua and Penei on terrific seasons,” said Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman Jesse Sapolu. “They are both tremendous role models and a source of great pride for Polynesians everywhere.”

Tua Tagovailoa threw for 2,840 yards, 33 touchdowns and only three interceptions this season before a season-ending hip injury. He ranked among the nation’s top 10 quarterbacks in yards per passing attempt (11.3, 2nd), passing yards per game (315.6, 4th), passing touchdowns (33, T-6th) and completion percentage (71.4, 6th).

Tagovailoa thanked Jesus and his family for the support they’ve given him throughout the process.

“It is a blessing to be selected as the winner from such an impressive group of finalists,” Tagovailoa said in a video shared by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame.

Tagovailoa also thanked coach Nick Saban, offensive coordinator Steve Sarkisian and teammates, who helped him win the award.

Previous recipients of the award include Tennessee Titans QB Marcus Mariota, Baltimore Ravens OL Ronnie Stanley and Minnesota Vikings DE Hercules Mata`afa.

The formal presentation of the awards will be held during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner (Jan. 17, 2020) and the winners recognized during the Polynesian Bowl (Jan. 18, 2020) on Oahu, Hawai`i.