Zakoby McClain has every right to wake up angry this fine Sunday morning.

That’s because, with the game on the line on Saturday night at Penn State, the Auburn linebacker was ejected on a highly questionable targeting call.

The play, which you can see below, was somehow confirmed upon review, even though McClain doesn’t appear to make forcible contact to the runner’s head or neck area and doesn’t lead with the crown of his helmet. Both of those things are what you look for on targeting calls. McClain appeared to do neither, simply making a good, hard hit to stop a ball carrier from scoring.

But, the ejection was upheld, and now McClain will have to miss the first half of next week’s game, too.

Let’s just say he wasn’t too happy with the call. He took to Twitter to express his frustration in a number of tweets, as you can see below:

The SEC seems to be issuing a lot of statements acknowledging referee errors these days. We’ll see if one is issued about this play. McClain probably shouldn’t hold his breath waiting for it, though.

Auburn hosts Georgia State in its final nonconference game of the year next weekend.