ACC referees were working last weekend’s nonconference matchup between independent Notre Dame and Cal out of the Pac-12.

The game was tight down the stretch and an offsides call on a field goal attempt was a brutal dagger for Cal.

The problem? Clearly, no Cal players were offsides on the play. Now, according to a report from Roxy Bernstein, the ACC has suspended the side judge who made that call:

Per Bernstein’s report, the ACC has apologized to Cal and also admitted the call was blown. But, that obviously doesn’t help the Bears now.

We’ll see if any public admission of error comes out from the ACC, but for now, Cal will have to settle for the referee being suspended.