Mississippi State head coach Dan Mullen addressed the media at his first weekly press conference of the season Monday in advance of Saturday’s season opener against Southern Miss.

Prior to taking questions, Mullen released his depth chart for Saturday’s game, which held few surprises for a team returning most of its starters from a season ago.

HailState.com’s Bob Carskadon shared MSU’s depth chart via Twitter Monday afternoon:

Perhaps the biggest shock on the depth chart is All-SEC defensive tackle Chris Jones listed as the backup to senior tackle P.J. Jones (no relation). Chris Jones’ name has been in the discussion among the top defensive lineman in the conference, and the league’s coaches proved they hold the true sophomore in high regard by naming him a second team All-SEC performer this preseason.

Nevertheless, Mullen chose to give the nod to P.J., who registered seven fewer tackles, four fewer tackles for loss and two fewer sacks than Chris in 2013. It should be noted that Chris Jones started just three games for MSU in 2013 but appeared in all 13, meaning he will still likely be an impact player for the Bulldogs early in the season.

Among the other noteworthy positions on the depth chart was right tackle, where Mullen has still yet to choose a starter to replace the injured Damien Robinson. Justin Senior and Rufus Warren will continue their competition throughout this week, and it is likely we will discover who the starter is based on who joins the huddle for MSU’s first offensive series Saturday night.

Ben Beckwith, as expected, will replace the departed Gabe Jackson at left guard, and will be paired with Justin Malone at right guard.

As expected, Josh Robinson will replace LaDarius Perkins as the starting tailback, Justin Cox will replace Nickoe Whitley at safety and Ryan Brown will replace Denico Autry at defensive end.

The Bulldogs do have an intriguing battle still ongoing between place kickers Evan Sobiesk and Westin Graves, and the competition may continue into and beyond Saturday’s game.

And although it was not listed on the depth chart, Mullen announced the team’s captains for the coming season: Malcolm Johnson, Dillon Day and Jay Hughes. Johnson returns as the team’s starting tight end, while Day returns as the anchor of the offensive line at the center position.

Hughes edged Kendrick Market to keep his starting strong safety position and was then named a captain by his teammates. Mullen said 26 different players received votes to be a team captain.