With four national championships in the last seven years, Alabama ranks as a dynasty.

But where does the Crimson Tide rank with the all-time best dynasties?

It’s tough to compare teams from different eras. But given today’s competitiveness with millions and millions of dollars in television revenue, scholarship limits and national recruiting, it’s harder to become a dynasty than ever before.

The days of one or two teams dominating every conference almost every year are over, though most traditional powers remain among the nation’s strongest programs.

Here’s a list of 10 dynasties that rank above the rest:

10. Florida (2006-2009): 48-7 — The Gators went 13-1 in three successive seasons under Urban Meyer, winning national championships in 2006 and 2008, and losing in the title game in 2009. Tim Tebow led the way, winning the Heisman Trophy in 2007.

9. Southern Cal (1967-1979): 122-23-7 — Watching the Rose Bowl in the late 1960s and throughout the 1970s meant watching the Trojans and their incredible run of tailbacks including Mike Garrett, O.J. Simpson, Anthony Davis, Ricky Bell and Charles White. John McKay’s team won nine Pac-8 titles and four national titles during the 13-season stretch.

8. Alabama (1961-1966): 60-5-1 — Bear Bryant’s teams of the era won national titles in 1961, 1964 and 1965 and were undefeated in 1966, losing the votes in the polls to Notre Dame and Michigan State, which tied during the regular season. Joe Namath led the Tide to a 29-4 record in three seasons as quarterback.

7. Oklahoma (1973-1980): 73-7 — Running over opponents in Barry Switzer’s wishbone offense, the Sooners won eight straight Big Eight titles and back-to-back national championships, beginning in 1974. Greg Pruitt, Joe Washington and Billy Sims were the featured halfbacks in the Sooners’ high-powered running game.

6. Southern Cal (2002-2008): 82-9 — Pete Carroll’s teams had flashy stars made for Hollywood, including Carson Palmer, Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush. The Trojans rolled to seven consecutive conference titles, a remarkable feat in the highly competitive Pac-12 in the modern era, and two national titles. They won 34 straight games before losing to Texas and Vince Young in a thrilling national title game in 2005.

5. Nebraska (1993-1997): 60-3 — The Cornhuskers were a throwback to decades past with their dominating running game led by QB Tommie Frazier and hard-running FB Cory Schlesinger. The Huskers won three national titles and ran off 26 consecutive victories. They beat the best teams in the country decisively, routing SEC champions Florida 62-24 and Tennessee 42-17 while winning four straight major bowl games.

4. Florida State (1992-2000): 99-11-1 — It’s probably no coincidence that Bobby Bowden’s most successful years came after the Seminoles joined the ACC for the 1992 season. Florida State won the ACC in its first nine years in the conference and never finished outside the top four in the major polls. The Seminoles won national titles in 1993 and 1999 with Heisman Trophy quarterbacks Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke. Florida State went 70-2 against ACC foes.

3. Miami (1986-1992) — The Hurricanes won three national titles and ripped off a 29-game winning streak under coaches Jimmy Johnson and Dennis Erickson. The Hurricanes enjoyed a notorious reputation, made famous when Notre Dame fans declared the 1988 game between the teams as “Catholics vs. Convicts.” Miami stars in the era included Heisman-winning quarterbacks Vinny Testeverde and Gino Torretta and WR Michael Irvin.

2. Alabama (2008-2015): 98-12 — The Crimson Tide has won four of the last seven national titles sending a succession of stars to the NFL. Running backs Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry won the Heisman. Playing in the SEC, the nation’s toughest conference, in a modern era featuring more competitive balance, the Tide’s accomplishments have been extraordinary.

1. Oklahoma (1948-1958): 107-8 — Granted, it was a different era. There weren’t nearly as many schools that could compete with the Sooners in resources. Bud Wilkinson’s teams during the era won three national championships and put together four undefeated seasons. They still own the record of 47 straight victories set from 1953-1957. They also amassed another winning streak of 31 games. The Sooners won 11 consecutive titles in the Big Seven and Big Eight Conference.