The SEC had plenty of representation on hand at the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Award banquet, but the players in attendance came home empty-handed. Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright took home the trophy for the national defensive player of the year, beating out Alabama safety Landon Collins and Ole Miss cornerback Senquez Golson, among others.

Collins and Golson were two of the Associated Press’ unanimous selections for the all-SEC team. Collins led the Crimson Tide with 90 tackles and was tops on the team with 3 interceptions, also forcing a fumble and breaking up six passes. Golson was among the most outstanding cornerbacks in the country this year, finishing second nationally with 9 interceptions.

Wright finished second in the nation with 153 tackles, picking up 14 sacks along the way. He helped lead Arizona to a 10-3 record and an appearance in the Pac 12 title game against Oregon.

Texas defensive lineman Malcom Brown and Louisville defensive back Gerrod Holliman were among the other finalists.

Alabama coach Nick Saban gave the keynote address at the awards banquet, while former winner Randy White of Maryland was honored with the Legends Award.