Who are the best of the best?

That’s a question CBS Sports’ Jon Solomon attempted to answer with the help of several other sports writers from all over the United States to rank the best national champions in college football since the beginning of the now-defunct BCS in¬†1998.

Here are the ones that participated in these rankings: Solomon himself, Dennis Dodd of CBS Sports, Stewart Mandel and Bruce Feldman of Fox Sports, Ralph Russo of the Associated Press, Tony Barnhart of the SEC Network and GridironNow, Paul Myerberg of USA Today and Jon Wilner of the San Jose Mercury News.

Here’s a description of their points-based system:

“A first-place vote was worth 18 points, a second-place vote was worth 17 points, and so on.”

Here’s a look at how they ranked the 18 titleholders over that span, including each team’s record and voting points:

1. 2001 Miami12-0141
2. 2004 USC13-0137
3. 2005 Texas13-0126
T4. 2009 Alabama14-0103
T4. 1999 Florida State12-0103
6. 2013 Florida State14-097
7. 2008 Florida13-192
8. 2011 Alabama12-187
T9. 2014 Ohio State14-162
T9. 2012 Alabama13-162
11. 2015 Alabama14-155
12. 2002 Ohio State14-053
13. 2010 Auburn14-052
14. 2003 LSU13-151
15. 1998 Tennessee13-044
16. 2000 Oklahoma13-041
17. 2006 Florida13-138
18. 2007 LSU12-223

You can check out the story in its entirety with detailed descriptions and explanations for the rankings here.