The NFL held its annual awards ceremony on Thursday as the 2022 season nears its end with the Super Bowl on Sunday. Six former SEC football players were recognized.

Dak Prescott won Walter Payton Man of the Year. Though an off-field award, it is the most prestigious of the yearly honors. Prescott was awarded for his contributions to cancer research and his foundation’s advocacy for mental health.

Familiar faces Justin Jefferson, Joe Burrow and Josh Jacobs were all recognized for their spectacular seasons. DeMeco Ryans, a former Alabama linebacker, was named the top assistant coach of the season. Brian Daboll, a former Alabama assistant under Nick Saban, was named Coach of the Year.

  • Offensive Player of the Year – Minnesota Vikings WR Justin Jefferson (LSU)
  • Assistant Coach of the Year – San Francisco 49ers DC DeMeco Ryans (Alabama)
  • Walter Payton Man of the Year – Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott (Mississippi State)
  • FedEx Air Player of the Year – Cincinnati Bengals QB Joe Burrow (LSU)
  • FedEx Ground Player of the Year – Las Vegas Raiders RB Josh Jacobs (Alabama)
  • Angry Run of the Year – Houston Texans RB Dameon Pierce (Florida)

In addition to winning Offensive Player of the Year, Jefferson was also recognized for his memorable catch against the Buffalo Bills with the Moment of the Year award.

In one of the lighter moments, former Florida RB Dameon Pierce was recognized for having the angriest run of the season.