NFL awards season is almost here, and it’s a tight race for the MVP honor this season, with many strong candidates.

On Wednesday, the league revealed the 5 finalists for the 2022 AP MVP award, and a trio of former SEC stars were included on the list.

As you can see below, former LSU QB Joe Burrow, former LSU WR Justin Jefferson and former Alabama/Oklahoma QB Jalen Hurts will compete with Patrick Mahomes and Josh Allen for the prestigious NFL honor:

Burrow and Jefferson were key pieces in LSU’s 2019 title run, while Hurts won a national championship in 2017 with Alabama.

All 3 players led their teams to playoff berths. Hurts and Burrow are still in the mix for a Super Bowl with the Philadelphia Eagles and Cincinnati Bengals, respectively.

Who will be named this year’s NFL MVP? Any of the 5 players named as finalists would be worthy choices. We’ll see who takes home the trophy soon!