The SEC may be thin on returning quarterbacks this season, but several — in addition to a first-year senior starter — were named to today’s watch list for the Davey O’Brian award, an honor presented to the nation’s best passer.

Florida’s Jeff Driskel, Mississippi’s Bo Wallace, Dak Prescott from Mississippi State, Auburn’s Nick Marshall and Georgia’s Hutson Mason were five of 39 selections. Missouri’s Maty Mauk and South Carolina’s Dylan Thompson, players with experience who are stepping into starting roles, were not included.

Marshall was an All-SEC honorable mention pick as a junior.

Last season, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel and Alabama’s A.J. McCarron were Davey O’Brien finalists, but Florida State’s Jameis Winston took home the award along with the Heisman Trophy.