Week 10 featured plenty of controversial or questionable calls by the SEC officials — not due to incompetence, but because there were so many difficult calls. Here are a few of the most interesting.


With the clock winding under 1:35, Laquon Treadwell made a spectacular play to secure a third-and-3 throw for what appeared to be a 20-yard touchdown. Then he got crushed at the goal line by two Auburn defenders, setting off mayhem.

First, Treadwell appeared to break his left ankle on the play, a gruesome injury that will crush the Ole Miss offense.

Second, upon further review, the officials ruled that Treadwell fumbled before his various limbs jammed into the ground, careening in all sorts of unnatural directions. Cassanova McKinzy pounce on the ball, recovering possession for Auburn.

Watching the play frame-by-frame several times, Treadwell does fumble the ball before he crosses the plane or touches the ground. The defender drags him down by the jersey, not the pads, ruling out a horse-collar tackle. The defender’s helmet, or at least his facemask, does appear to come in contact with Treadwell’s facemask or helmet, though not intentionally.

Was it a fumble? A horse collar tackle? A helmet-to-helmet hit? Decide for yourself.


Georgia threatened to make a game of it in the second half, but two near-catches in the end zone, one by Nick Chubb on a two-point conversion and one by Michael Bennett on a would-be touchdown, both were ruled as incomplete passes.

Both Bulldogs appeared to catch the ball, but officials ruled they did not complete the catch as they absorbed hits from Gators defenders. These rulings are subjective and are some of the toughest decisions in football, though in recent years the rules ensure “completing the catch” requires meeting a difficult standard.


One week after placing two No. 1 jerseys onto the field on the same play (and getting away with it), Auburn appeared to play a third-quarter snap with 12 players. Again, the Tigers weren’t flagged.

Check out this screenshot of the play.

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.40.53 AM


At the end of regulation, South Carolina reserve tight end Cody Gibson picked up a squib kick. The ball came out near the time he got tackled, then sat on the ground for what seemed like an eternity before a Tennessee player picked it up just inside the 40 with seven seconds left.

Tennessee won in overtime thanks to back-to-back sacks of Dylan Thompson in overtime. But if the officials had ruled that Gibson fumbled, the Vols would’ve been one short completion away from a game-winning field goal attempt.