The case that rocked Baylor University and the football team concluded with fines and no concrete evidence of sexual violence within the program.

The Division I Committee on Infractions was able to conduct an investigation of the matter that occurred between 2011 to 2016. The results revealed that there was evidence of impermissible benefits and recruiting violations, but proved no evidence of sexual violence-related violations:

Among the punishments for the recruiting violations and illegal benefits were 4 years of probation and a $5,000 fine. There were no punishments regarding a postseason bowl ban or loss of scholarships to the football program.

The accusations of sexual violence occurred from 2011 to 2016 and forced the resignation of head coach Art Briles, athletic director Ian McCaw, university president Kenneth Starr, and Title IX coordinator Patty Crawford. This was a case that showed that highlighted the program’s intolerance habits from the players. The most noticeable players include Tevin Elliot, Sam Ukwuachu, and Shawn Oakman. Elliot is serving a 20-year prison sentence. Ukwuachu had his conviction overturned, but it was reinstated in 2018. Oakman was found not guilty of sexual assault.

In 2017, a lawsuit was filed by the victims of sexual assault from 2011 to 2014 that 31 players committed 52 acts of assault over the previous few years.