One of the best players in Tennessee history has added another honor to his resume as Al Wilson has been named a member of the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

Wilson is the only player from the Southeastern Conference to earn this honor in the 2021 class.

The former Volunteer linebacker was a team captain on Tennessee’s undefeated 1998 national championship team. Wilson is the 25th Volunteer to be named a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

During his time on Rocky Top, Wilson racked up 272 total tackles. He won the 1998 Nagurski Trophy and was a member of two SEC championship teams and four top 10 finishes (No. 3 in 1995, No. 9 in 1996, No. 7 in 1997 and No. 1 in 1998).

Wilson is a native of Jackson, Tennessee.

“It’s truly a blessing to be considered one of the best to play the game at the collegiate level,” Wilson said in a released statement by Tennessee. “To my teammates, coaches and all of Vol Nation, this is our award!”

Tennessee AD, who coached Wilson during the linebacker’s playing career in Knoxville, also issued a statement.

“I am so proud of Al Wilson being selected into the College Football Hall of Fame. He is so deserving, not only for the passion and effort he played with but for his leadership as captain of our 1998 national championship team,” Fulmer wrote.

“Al was the epitome of a competitor. He knew the importance of preparation to be great, and he influenced others to follow his lead during the offseason, spring practice, summer workouts and certainly through the fall of that wonderful 1998 season. He was the ultimate teammate and respected by everyone for his dedication, hard work, love of the game and physical play. He found a way to connect personally with everyone on the team on and off the field.”

Here is the full 2021 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class:

Harris Barton – OT, North Carolina (1983-86)
David Fulcher – DB, Arizona State (1983-85)
Rudy Hubbard – Head Coach, Florida A&M (1974-85)
Dan Morgan – LB, Miami (Fla.) (1997-2000)
Carson Palmer – QB, Southern Cal (1998-2002)
Tony Romo – QB, Eastern Illinois (1999-2002)
Kenneth Sims – DT, Texas (1978-81)
C.J. Spiller – RB/KR, Clemson (2006-09)
Darren Sproles – RB, Kansas State (2001-04)
Bob Stoops – Head Coach, Oklahoma (1999-2016)
Aaron Taylor – OT, Notre Dame (1990-93)
Andre Tippett – DE, Iowa (1979-81)
Al Wilson – LB, Tennessee (1995-98)