Heading into Friday, Vanderbilt was the last school from the Southeastern Conference that had yet to announce its attendance policy for the upcoming football season.

Friday afternoon, the school announced that no fans will be allowed into Vanderbilt Stadium through the end of October due to concerns regarding COVID-19.

Vanderbilt is the only SEC school that has made the decision to have no fans at football games to start the season.

Program AD Candice Lee issued the following statement along with the news:

“Our student-athletes and coaching staffs are ready to compete and win in the best conference in the nation, but we recognize that we have to do so in our ‘new normal’ environment, where we need to focus on keeping everyone as healthy and safe as possible,” Lee said. “Playing without fans allows us to concentrate all of our energies on our student-athletes and minimize scenarios that could jeopardize their health and safety, and their ability to complete the season.

“We understand the impact this decision to compete without spectators has on both our fan base and our student-athletes, but this is the right thing to do for us because of the current challenges posed by COVID-19. Given factors in play at Vanderbilt, such as playing in the heart of a city, we feel this decision is in the best interest of our students, fans, game day staff, and the greater Nashville community.

“Across the country, we have seen professional leagues, universities, athletic departments and conferences react in different ways to their unique challenges, and we must do the same. College sports thrives with a passionate fanbase and we look forward to responsibly welcoming them back when we can do so safely. In the meantime, we are also developing innovative approaches for fans to cheer on our Commodores in fun new ways.”

Here is an updated look at the attendance policies for the rest of the SEC:

Tennessee: 25%
Texas A&M: 25%
Missouri: 25%
LSU: 25%
Ole Miss: 25%
Miss State: 25%
Georgia: 20-25%
Arkansas: 21-23%
Alabama: 20%
Auburn: 20%
Florida: 20%
South Carolina: 20%
Kentucky: 20%
Vanderbilt: 0%