University of Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the 2020 season Heisman Trophy winner!

The Heisman Trust announced the winner following a virtual show on ESPN Tuesday night, and Smith becomes the third Alabama player to win the award, joining Derrick Henry (2015) and Mark Ingram (2009).

Smith became the third wide receiver to ever win the award, but he’s the first since Desmond Howard in 1991 to win it. Smith joins Howard and Tim Brown (1987) as the only wide receivers to win the trophy.

“The Slim Reaper,” as he’s appropriately nicknamed, has had a season for the ages. Smith finished with a college football-high 105 receptions for 1,641 yards, 1,912 all-purpose yards and 20 receiving touchdowns. Although Smith is quiet and unassuming, his game is anything but that. And the tape doesn’t lie, as he’s torched defenses who have been dedicated to stopping him all season long.

Smith, the SEC’s all-time leader in career touchdown receptions, beat out Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, Alabama quarterback and teammate Mac Jones and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask.

While quarterbacks and running backs historically have won the Heisman Trophy, Smith defies the odds in a crazy season shorted due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Smith and his teammates will take on Ohio State Monday night in the national championship.