Conference USA appears on the verge of adding 4 universities – 2 with FCS football programs and 2 FBS independents – to its ranks after losing a host of schools to other conferences.

According to the Action Network’s Brett McMurphy, those schools are Liberty, Jacksonville State, New Mexico State, and Sam Houston State. Liberty and Jacksonville State are primary members of the ASUN conference, with the Flames an FBS independent and the Gamecocks in FCS. NMSU and Sam Houston State are primary WAC members, with the Aggies an FBS independent along with Liberty and the Bearkats playing football at the FCS level.

An announcement could come “by the end of the week”.

This follows a report from Monday afternoon from McMurphy stating that Middle Tennessee and Western Kentucky were looking to leave C-USA for the MAC, putting the MAC at 14 teams.

Conference USA has been decimated in recent weeks and is looking elsewhere to make up for the losses.

In October, 6 schools announced that they were leaving C-USA for the AAC: Charlotte, Florida Atlantic, North Texas, Rice, UAB, and UTSA, with a start date to be determined. Southern Miss announced its own departure from the conference for the Sun Belt effective 2023, followed by Old Dominion and Marshall.