LSU quarterback Joe Burrow became the 2019 Heisman Trophy winner Saturday night.

Burrow beat out Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and Ohio State defensive end Chase Young to win the award.

Burrow is now the 13th winner of the Heisman Trophy in SEC history on the heels of a spectacular and historic season. The LSU signal caller set an SEC record with 4,715 passing yards and 48 passing touchdowns in 2019. He’s set numerous other school records for LSU during his historic record-breaking campaign.

Entering the 2019 season, Burrow was an after-thought for the Heisman Trophy; however, thanks to an always evolving head coach in Ed Orgeron, the Tigers hired Saints assistant Joe Brady as the team’s new passing game coordinator. Brady, along with offensive coordinator Steve Ensminger, helped develop Burrow and the Tigers spectacular offense this year.

For the first time in SEC history, Burrow threw for over 3,000 yards, receivers Ja’Marr Chase (1,498 yards) and Justin Jefferson (1,207 yards) both eclipsed the 1,000-yard receiving mark and running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire (1,290 yards) rushed for over 1,000 yards.

The quarterback joined Tigers legend Billy Cannon as the only two LSU players in history to win the award.

Burrow joins the following winners from the SEC:

  • 2015 Derrick Henry, Alabama
  • 2012 Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
  • 2010 Cam Newton, Auburn
  • 2009 Mark Ingram, Alabama
  • 2007 Tim Tebow, Florida
  • 1996 Danny Wuerffel, Florida
  • 1985 Bo Jackson, Auburn
  • 1982 Herschel Walker, Georgia
  • 1972 Pat Sullivan, Auburn
  • 1966 Steve Spurrier, Florida
  • 1959 Billy Cannon, LSU
  • 1942 Frank Sinkwich, Georgia