Cody Schrader has had a legendary season for the Missouri Tigers in 2023. The former D-II running back led the SEC in rushing this season with 1,499 yards.

On Monday, Schrader was rewarded for his impressive performance. The running back was announced as the winner of the Burlsworth Trophy, which is annually given to the nation’s top player who began their college career as a walk-on.

Schrader beat out James Madison’s James Carpenter and Oklahoma’s Drake Stoops for the award. Schrader walked on at Missouri in 2021 after a career at Truman State University that saw the running back collect 17 school records.

Schrader’s historic season helped the Tigers end the regular season with a 10-2 record and a 6-2 mark in SEC play. The Tigers’ next test will be in the Cotton Bowl against the Ohio State Buckeyes.

The Burlsworth Trophy has been given out annually since the 2010 season. Previous winners include Baker Mayfield, Hunter Renfrow, and Stetson Bennett.

The award is named after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth. Burlsworth became an All-American for the Razorbacks after walking on to the team. The lineman was tragically killed in a car accident shortly after being drafted in 1999.