The SEC will take a home a sweet sum of cash from the first College Football Playoff.

With Alabama representing the SEC in the College Football Playoff semifinal and Ole Miss and Mississippi State in New Year’s Six bowls, the SEC is set to earn $87.5 million, according to The Business of College Sports.

The payout will be paid to the conference, however most leagues split up bowl revenue between its member institutions.

Here’s how the College Football Playoff will pay the SEC in greater detail:

  • $50 million base to the SEC
  • $6 million to the conference for Alabama (Sugar Bowl — CFP semifinal)
  • $4 million to the conference for Ole Miss (Peach Bowl)
  • $27.5 million to the conference for Mississippi State (Orange Bowl)

The conference distribution model allows for participating teams to retain a percentage of the earnings.

According to The Business of College Sports, for bowl games with receipts totaling $4 million to $5.9 million, the participating team — in this case, Ole Miss — will retain $1.475 million. For bowl games with receipts of $6 million or more — Alabama and Mississippi State — the participating team will retain $2 million.

Alabama squares off against Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day for a berth in the national championship game. Should an SEC representative make it to the national final, the team receives an additional $2.1 million.

The remainder of the revenue from the Sugar Bowl, Peach Bowl and Orange Bowl will be split 15 ways, a share going to the 14 member schools and a share going to the conference office.

Due to its contract, the Orange Bowl delivers a larger payout this season as a non-semifinal bowl. When the Sugar Bowl and Rose Bowl aren’t hosting semifinals, the SEC, Big 12, Big Ten and Pac-12 teams appearing in them will receive a payout of $40 million.

Three other Power 5 conferences will earn significantly less than the SEC this bowl season. The Pac-12 and Big Ten are both set to earn $60 million payouts. The Big 12 will pocket $58 million, while the ACC will take home $83.5 million.