One of the more obvious missed calls of the day in college football wasn’t even overturned on review in the Clemson-Boston College game.
Clemson punt returner Amari Rodgers was clearly interfered with, but kick-catch interference was not called, as Boston College recovered the fumble. After review, the ruling on the field stood and the Eagles took over on offense. Rodgers appeared to signal for a fair catch, and after the call was made, Clemson coach Dabo Swinney was apoplectic on the sideline.
Ultimately, though, it resulted in just a flip in field position as the Tigers defense held, and Clemson took over at its own 10-yard line.
Perhaps the most bizarre part of the entire play was the sequence meant BC converted a fourth-and-49.
— SportSourceAnalytics (@SportSourceA) November 11, 2018