The semifinalists for the Naismith College Player of the Year award have just been announced and Alabama’s Herbert Jones was among the 10 players selected.

The award, named after basketball’s founder – Dr. James Naismith, is given annually to the nation’s best college basketball player. The award has been given out dating back to 1969. The first winner of the award was UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, who would later change his name to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

Here are the 10 semifinalists for the 2021 Naismith College Player of the Year:

  • Jared Butler Jr. G Baylor
  • Cade Cunningham Fr. G Oklahoma State
  • Hunter Dickinson Fr. C Michigan
  • Ayo Dosunmu Jr. G Illinois
  • Luka Garza Sr. C Iowa
  • Quentin Grimes Jr. G Houston
  • Herbert Jones Sr. F/G Alabama
  • Corey Kispert Sr. F Gonzaga
  • Evan Mobley Fr. F USC
  • Drew Timme So. F Gonzaga