SEC officials catching heat after controversial call in Clemson, Ohio State game
SEC officials are catching some heat on social media during the Clemson-Ohio State game.
With Clemson leading 21-16 in the third quarter, it appeared as if quarterback Trevor Lawrence threw a complete pass that was then fumbled by receiver Justyn Ross. The call on the field was a complete pass, a fumble and touchdown return for Ohio State; however, after the review, the officials reversed the call on the field and said it was incomplete.
Below is a replay of the potential game-changing play:
— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) December 29, 2019
That was a huge momentum-swining play that would have given the Buckeyes the lead. Instead, Clemson maintained possession — and more importantly — and the lead. The Clemson Tigers lead the Ohio State Buckeyes 21-16 after the third quarter.
Below is reaction to the SEC officials’ call:
Awful awful call overturning That OSU touchdown. Wow
— Barstool LSU (@LSUBarstool) December 29, 2019
Live I thought that was clearly not a catch. On instant replay I thought it was a catch.
— Clay Travis (@ClayTravis) December 29, 2019
Well if Ohio State loses this game, at least everyone will accept the outcome, move on, and thank the SEC officiating crew for working hard
— Banner Society (@BannerSociety) December 29, 2019
If Ohio State loses this game, their fans will have a long offseason of complaining about officiating
They do have an argument though
— Matt Jones (@KySportsRadio) December 29, 2019
The #SEC officials strike again!
— Willie Smith (@willie_t_smith) December 29, 2019
Woulda been a catch on my street.
— Chase Goodbread (@ChaseGoodbread) December 29, 2019
What did everyone think about that call? I think the call on the field has to stand there. You’ll?
— David Pollack (@davidpollack47) December 29, 2019
Many of the sport’s rules are a complete joke these days.
— Keith Niebuhr (@Keith247Sports) December 29, 2019
Man, that is TOUGH!!! I thought he had possession!
— Greg McElroy (@GregMcElroy) December 29, 2019
You’ve got to be kidding me.
He took like four steps with the ball under control.
— Wes Rucker (@wesrucker247) December 29, 2019