LSU LB Devin White has been named the winner of the 2018 Dick Butkus Award, presented annually to the top linebacker in college football. He was presented the award on LSU campus Tuesday by Matt Butkus, son of legendary Chicago Bears linebacker Dick Butkus for whom the award is named.

White ranks second in the SEC in total tackles with 115 and his 12 tackles for loss stands No. 10 in the league for the 2018 season. He is only the seventh player in LSU history to record 100 tackles in back-to-back seasons. White has 278 career tackles to go along with 29.0 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks. He’s also responsible for eight takeaways (four fumble recoveries, three forced fumbles and an interception).

White is the first player in LSU history to win the Butkus Award. White’s win makes it three years in a row the award has gone to SEC linebacker, joining Georgia’s Roquan Smith (2017) and Alabama’s Reuben Foster (2016). White is LSU’s first player to win a national award since Odell Beckham Jr. won the 2013 Paul Hornung Award.

He beat out Josh Allen (Kentucky), Devin Bush (Michigan), Tre Lamar (Clemson) and Dylan Moses (Alabama) for the award.