Joe Burrow wasn’t the only LSU Tiger grabbing the hardware on Thursday night in Atlanta. Safety Grant Delpit was named the winner of the Jim Thorpe Award, annually given to the top defensive back in college football.

Asked at the College Football Awards event by ESPN’s Chris Fowler about LSU being “DBU,” Delpit replied, “We let our play do the talking.”

Delpit beat out fellow finalists J.R. Reed of Georgia, and Jeff Okudah of Ohio State.

“I wanted to win this award for the guys who came through LSU and didn’t get the chance to win it,” Delpit said, according to Cody Worsham. “I’m glad to bring it back to the boot. … It’s a true honor and blessing to win this award. We’re not done yet. We’ve got bigger dreams.”

Delpit is a leader in the 2019 Tiger defense and one of just nine players in LSU history to earn unanimous All-America honors. Delpit wears No. 7 this year as a junior after he wore No. 9 his first two years with the Tigers. The No. 7 in LSU football has been passed down to some of the recent greats in the program beginning with Patrick Peterson, and followed by Tyrann Mathieu, Leonard Fournette and DJ Chark.