The SEC West rivals are at it again. This time, Alabama and LSU players are in the running for the Biletnikoff Award as it released its semifinalists for the award that goes to the top receiver in college football.

As expected, LSU’s Ja’Marr Chase and Justin Jefferson are on the list alongside Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy, who won it last year, and DeVonta Smith among 12 semifinalists. Past winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, the late Terry Glenn and Larry Fitzgerald.

Arkansas State’s Omar Bayless leads the country in receiving with 73 catches for 1,262 yards and 14 touchdowns. Liberty’s Antonio Gandy-Golden is second with 64 catches for 1,244 yards and eight touchdowns. Chase leads the SEC with 57 catches for 1,116 yards and 13 touchdowns.

For clarification, any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

The committee is made up of a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners and other former receivers.

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented on Dec. 12, during an awards show on ESPN that begins at 7 p.m. ET.

Here are the semifinalists:

  • Rashod Bateman, Minnesota
  • Omar Bayless, Arkansas State
  • Ja’Marr Chase, LSU
  • Antonio Gandy-Golden, Liberty
  • Isaiah Hodgins, Oregon State
  • Justin Jefferson, LSU
  • Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
  • CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma
  • Michael Pittman Jr., USC
  • James Proche, SMU
  • DeVonta Smith, Alabama
  • Sage Surratt, Wake Forest