University of Alabama junior wide receiver Amari Cooper has been named a finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

While re-writing the Crimson Tide record book, Cooper has 103 receptions for 1,573 yards and 14 touchdowns while helping lead No. 1 Alabama to this weekend’s SEC Championship Game in Atlanta.

He’s had four games with 10 or more receptions, and last week set an Iron Bowl record with 224 receiving yards as Alabama pulled out a 55-44 victory.

The winner of the award will be announced on Dec. 11. The finalists:

  • Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper
  • TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin
  • Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon
  • Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota
  • Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright

Mariota was a semifinalist for the award last year and Wright is the first defensive finalist since LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu in 2011.

An Alabama player has never won the Walter Camp Award, which goes to the nation’s most outstanding player. The last wide receiver to win Southern California’s Marquis Lee in 2011 when he was coach by current Crimson Tide offensive coordinator Lane Kiffin.

Meanwhile, Crimson Tide teammate Landon Collins was named a finalist for the Lott Impact Trophy, for the best defensive player in character and performance as awarded by the Pacific Club Impact Foundation.

Collins is second in Alabama tackles with 84, with three interceptions and nine passes defended.

“Landon is not only an outstanding player, but he is an equally impressive person who takes great pride in what he does on and off the field,” Alabama coach Nick Saban said in a release. “He is one of the hardest workers we have on our team and takes advantage of each and every opportunity with which he is presented. It is a pleasure to coach Landon each day and I am certain he will be successful in life no matter what he chooses due to his work ethic and leadership.”

The award will be presented Dec. 14. The finalists:

  • Landon Collins, Alabama, S
  • David Helton, Duke, LB
  • Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
  • Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington, LB

Finally, the Southeastern Conference had two players named finalists for the Manning Award (best quarterback by the Sugar Bowl Committee). The winner will be named after all bowl games are played.

  • J.T. Barrett, Fr., Ohio State
  • Trevone Boykin, Jr., TCU
  • Rakeem Cato, Sr., Marshall
  • Garrett Grayson, Sr., Colorado State
  • Brett Hundley, Jr., UCLA
  • Cody Kessler, Jr., Southern California
  • Marcus Mariota, Jr., Oregon
  • Bryce Petty, Sr., Baylor
  • Dak Prescott, Jr., Mississippi State
  • Blake Sims, Sr., Alabama
  • Jameis Winston, So., Florida State


Biletnikoff Award (finest receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club): Winner named Dec. 11.

  • Amari Cooper, Alabama
  • Rashard Higgins, Colorado State
  • Kevin White, West Virginia

Burlsworth Trophy (outstanding player who began career as a walk-on by the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation): Winner named Dec. 8

  • Ben Beckwith, guard, Mississippi State
  • Justin Hardy, receiver, East Carolina
  • Mark Weisman, running back, Iowa

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player by the Louisville Sports Commission): Winner named in December.

  • Nebraska running back and return specialist Ameer Abdullah
  • TCU tailback and kick return specialist B.J. Catalon
  • Stanford wide receiver and return specialist Ty Montgomery
  • Missouri running back and punt/kickoff return specialist Marcus Murphy
  • Washington linebacker / running back Shaq Thompson

Maxwell Award (player of the year by the Maxwell Club). Winner named Dec. 11.

  • RB Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback by the Davey O’Brien Foundation): Winner announced Dec. 11.

  • Trevone Boykin, TCU
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

Outland Trophy (outstanding interior lineman by the FWAA): Winner named Dec. 11.

  • C Reese Dismukes, Auburn
  • DL Malcom Brown, Texas
  • OT Brandon Scherff, Iowa

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year) Augusta Sports Council). Winner named Dec. 11.

  • Tom Hackett, Utah
  • Austin Rehkow, Idaho
  • JK Scott, Alabama

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding defensive player by the Charlotte TD Club): Winner announced Dec. 8.

  • DL Malcolm Brown, Texas
  • DB Landon Collins, Alabama
  • DB Senquez Golson, Ole Miss
  • DB Gerod Holliman, Louisville
  • LB Scooby Wright, Arizona

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back by the Jim Thorpe Association). Winner named Dec. 11.

  • Landon Collins, Alabama
  • Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
  • Gerod Holliman, Louisville

Wuerffel Trophy (exhibiting exemplary community service by the National Football Foundation). Winner named Dec. 9.

  • Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, quarterback
  • Bryce Haynes, Ohio State, long snapper
  • Sam Rodgers, Syracuse, long snapper
  • Chris Conley, Georgia, wide receiver
  • Brennen Beyer, Michigan, defensive end
  • Deterrian Shackelford, Ole Miss, linebacker
  • Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska, running back
  • Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, quarterback
  • Dylan Thompson, South Carolina, quarterback
  • Corey Acosta, Southern Miss, kicker
  • Greg Mancz, Toledo, center
  • Andrew East, Vanderbilt, long snapper

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (top senior quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation): Winner announced Dec. 8.

  • Brett Hundley, UCLA
  • Cody Kessler, USC
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor
  • Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

To be announced (or only watch lists)

  • Heisman Memorial Trophy (most outstanding player by the Heisman Trophy Trust): Finalists named Dec. 8.
  • Ted Hendricks Award (top defensive end by the Ted Hendricks Foundation): Semifinalists due to be announced.
  • Rimington Trophy (premier Center by the Boomer Esiason Foundation): Finalists named Dec. 8.

Awards no one from the SEC is in the running

  • Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club).
  • Butkus Award (best linebacker by the Butkus Foundation).
  • Lou Groza Award (top place-kicker by the Palm Beach Sports Commission).
  • Doak Walker Award (premier running back by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum).
  • Mackey Award (outstanding tight end by Friends of John Mackey).
  • Rotary Lombardi Award (lineman of the year by the Rotary Club of Houston).
  • William V. Campbell Trophy (top scholar-athlete by the National Football Foundation).

Coaches awards

Broyles Award

      (most outstanding assistant coach by the Little Rock Rotary Club): Winner named Dec. 9.

      • Lane Kiffin, Alabama
      • Dave Steckel, Missouri
      • Tom Herman, Ohio State
      • Scott Frost, Oregon
      • Doug Mecham, Oklahoma State

      Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year: Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Dan Mullen Mississippi State; Mark Richt; Georgia; Nick Saban, Alabama on watch list.
      Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year Award: Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss; Dan Mullen, Mississippi State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Nick Saban, Alabama named semifinalists. Finalists announced Dec. 9.
      Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award (by the FWAA): Finalists named Dec. 9.
      Associated Press Coach of the Year
      AFCA Coach of the Year

      Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year Award
      Home Depot Coach of the Year. Winner announced Dec. 10.
      Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year
      Paul “Bear” Bryant Award
      Sporting News College Football Coach of the Year
      Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award