For the first time in school history, the Mississippi State Bulldogs are NCAA national champions. MSU took down Vanderbilt 9-0 Wednesday night in Omaha to win the 2021 College World Series. Bulldogs starter Will Bednar turned in another gem and the MSU hitters got to Commodore standout Kumar Rocker early, chasing him in the fifth inning.

Bednar threw six no-hit innings (3 BB, 4 K, 90 pitches) before he was relieved by Landon Sims. Vanderbilt got its first hit in the bottom of the eighth when Carter Young singled off Sims. Bednar leaves Omaha with an incredible College World Series line of 18.1 IP, 5 H, 3 R, 6 BB, 26 K.

Mississippi State broke the scoring ice in the top of the first inning when Luke Hancock flied out to right field, allowing Rowdey Jordan to tag up from third and cross the plate. It was an unearned run for Rocker due to his earlier error on a throw to second that allowed Jordan to advance to third. VU had 3 errors on the night.

The Bulldogs added two more runs in the top of the second. With two on and one out, Lane Forsythe grounded to short, bringing home Scotty Dubrule to score. Jordan got his first RBI on a two-out double, plating Brayland Skinner to extend the lead to 3-0.

MSU chased Rocker in the fifth inning. Hancock got another RBI on a single up the middle, plating Jordan for the second time. Logan Tanner followed with a single to center that brought Tanner Allen, making it 5-0 and ending Rocker’s night. Chris McElvain relieved Rocker and managed to get two outs without further damage as the Bulldogs left them loaded.

Rocker’s final line was 4.1 IP, 6 H, 5 R, 4 ER, 2 BB, 6 K on 92 pitches.

Mississippi State broke the game wide open in the top of the seventh, scoring four runs on a pair of home runs. Tanner made it 6-0 with a solo homer and Kellum Clark made it 9-0 with a three-run shot to right-center field.