Cade Mays, Joey Gatewood and other SEC intraconference transfers are officially cleared to play.

SEC commissioner Greg Sankey released a statement announcing that the conference granted waivers in several cases. Mark Stoops was quick to announce that Auburn transfer QB Joey Gatewood is now eligible to play for the Wildcats. It didn’t take long for word out of Rocky Top to confirm that Mays is now eligible, too.

Sankey’s lengthy statement sent to media members says this is a one-time exception in “unprecedented times.” The conference bylaw regarding transfers will “undergo a thorough review” by the 2021-22 academic year:

“In consideration of current circumstances resulting from disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, including eligibility relief provided to student-athletes in August by the NCAA, and in anticipation of changes to NCAA transfer legislation, the Southeastern Conference today approved a number of transfer waiver requests that originated from member institutions seeking exceptions to the long-standing Conference bylaw that requires intraconference transfers serve a year in residence before being eligible to compete.

“It must be stated unequivocally that these approvals are solely a reflection of the unique circumstances present and should not be interpreted as endorsement of the rationale set forth by individuals seeking these waivers. These are unprecedented times in which decisions about eligibility and competitive opportunities demand consideration of the current challenges facing our student-athletes and schools as a result of COVID-19. In a non-COVID environment there may have been a different outcome for some of the waiver requests determined today.

“Our member institutions have been clear in the past that they oppose immediate eligibility for intraconference transfers. Given the increased number of waiver requests this year, and a changing national landscape related to student-athlete transfer issues, it is evident that the current transfer bylaw must undergo a thorough review by Conference membership in the most timely manner possible and prior to the 2021-22 academic year.”