After a year-long examination into the matter, Auburn athletic director Jay Jacobs says the Tigers have passed on trying to claim national championships in 1910, 1913, 1914, 1983, 1993 and 2004 with banners and graphics outside of Jordan-Hare Stadium.

First reported by on Wednesday, Jacobs told the media outlet Auburn will continue to recognize its 1957 and 2010 squads who won titles on the field as unbeaten No. 1s in the AP Poll.

“We’ve earned what we’ve earned and people can count it different ways, but we’ve earned what we’ve earned,” Jacobs said according to “Those players on those teams, like me in 1983, it doesn’t matter if you hang a banner or not. I know what we did.”