Alabama’s Amari Cooper will try and become the SEC’s fifth Heisman winner since 2007 on Saturday night in New York, matched up against Oregon’s Marcus Mariota and Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon. The Crimson Tide’s only other award recipient was running back Mark Ingram in 2009.

PROJECTED FINISH: 3rd behind Mariota, Wisconsin RB Melvin Gordon

  • Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama: Offensive coordinator Lane Kiffin made Cooper the focal point of Alabama’s offense during the SEC Championship Game, targeting the junior playmaker a season-high 16 times against Mizzou. Cooper caught 12 passes for 83 yards, the fourth time in his last five games he’s been held under triple digits. Cooper finished tops in the FBS ranks in catches (115) and yards (1,656) this season.


  • Dak Prescott, QB, Mississippi State
  • Nick Chubb, RB, Georgia