Bruce Pearl got it right when he cast his ballot for SEC Coach of the Year.

After leading the Tigers to an SEC regular-season title, Auburn’s coach voted for Tennessee coach Rick Barnes to win SEC Coach of the Year. Of course, Barnes did in fact win the award the SEC announced Tuesday. It should be noted that coaches are not permitted to vote for themselves or their players for the annual honors.

Auburn heads into the SEC Tournament as the No. 1 seed, while Tennessee will enter as the No. 2 seed thanks to a head-to-head win over the Vols. Both programs finished the season with 13-5 conference records.

While it would appear Pearl takes no issue with Barnes winning the top coaching honor from the SEC, he did express his disappointment that none of his players made First-Team All-SEC.

Pearl revealed his vote Wednesday during an appearance on SiriusXM morning show SEC This Morning, hosted by Peter Burns and Marcus Spears.